ashtanga yoga

Przemek Keppe Ashtanga Yoga padmasana lotus

The Ashtanga Vinyasa Yoga.

Taught according to the lineage passed on from Tirumalai Krishnamacharya the father of modern Yoga.

The term Ashtanga comes from sanskrit and means eight-limbs. It refers to eight folded path from which practice of Yoga is build. Physical practice of asanas is merely one of them.

Ashtanga Yoga is a holistic method based on concentrated and continued practice of asanas. The postures are connected through a strict vinyasa count breath connected with movement and tristhana method – the three elements of attention: breath, bandhas and drishti. In the beginning student learns the sun salutation A and B, to build up the strength, flexibility and establish quality focus. Once this is achieved more advanced asanas are added and personal practice is established. Correct breathing helps to take control over the practice and be more aware about the body. Drishti are the focus points for the eyes, when the gaze is unstable the mind is wandering. Through the application of the drishti, asana practice with controlled breathing – Pranayama, becomes a proper practice of Ashtanga Yoga. Internal practice of awareness and withdrawal of the senses – Pratyahara. Practice of concentration – Dharana. Practice of meditation – Dhyana. Whereas the last limb Samadhi – is the state of oneness.

“The moment I say I am a Yogi – I am not a Yogi!”

Sri Tirumalai Krishnamacharya